Saturday, August 28, 2021

Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge: An Interview With Mark Arm & Steve Turner & Show # 897

Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge
is the second full-length album from Seattle’s Mudhoney. Released on July 26th, 1991, the album shipped 50,000 copies when it was originally released. Just a few months later, Nirvana’s Nevermind would be released and the whole musical landscape would change. Prior to being recorded, Mudhoney recorded five tracks with producer Jack Endino (who also produced their Superfuzz Bigmuff EP and the Mudhoney album) in a 24-track studio. Unhappy with the results, guitarist Steve Turner pushed for a change of direction. Liking the results of Conrad Uno’s 8-track recording studio called Egg Studios on the Thrillsphere album by Tacoma, Washington’s Girl Trouble, the band decided to record a selection of punk covers with Uno to see what it would sound like recording there. Several of these songs came out on singles or on compilation albums, but not all of them. In spring of 1991, Mudhoney began recording Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge.

“Generation Genocide” starts off EGBDF with moody Farfisa organ, fuzzy guitar riffs, fluid basslines and energetic drums that intensify as the track comes to its chaotic close. “Let It Slide” fades in with drumrolls, guitar and bass slides, as Mark Arm sings “They can make it sound so nice/Everybody’s got a price,” in what was the album’s first single. In these opening two tracks, Uno’s production and Mudhoney’s dynamics show a reflection of their new influences, most notably 60s garage and a snotty 80s punk energy. Still keeping the urgency and Arm’s potent lyrics, this track shows a sparser sound, not sounding so much like a traditional 90s recording, but more like a classic recording from the 60s. “Good Enough” brings some acoustic guitar into Mudhoney’s songwriting dynamics. With an infectious collection of drums, bass, guitar and maracas, vocalist Mark Arm sings in an earnest and direct tone. With lyrics such as “I've made mistakes/That I'm sure I'll make again” and “Everybody says/You must have lost your head/Well, one more time is good enough for me,” Mudhoney and co. embrace imperfections while balancing it with an honesty and growth in their songwriting abilities at the same time.

“Something So Clear” juxtaposes fuzzy and energetic rhythms with melancholic lyrics ”Should’ve seen it coming/Like a bird at a window,” and other lines such as “There's a certain comfort in being confused,” this track along with the track before it shows a different side of Mudhoney. “Thorn” leans to the influence of 80s punk with corrosive lyrics, with pummeling drums “Into The Drink” attacks with a fuzzy guitar, bass and acoustic guitar dynamic. The catchy garage punk chorus of “Into the drink” about a seemingly lethal relationship make this another standout on EGBDF. “Broken Hands” reflects a Neil Young influence as it clocks in at just over six minutes. As the song treads along it builds toward an anarchic coda of noise. “Who You Drivin’ Now” is another Mudhoney fuzzy garage punk track. With its heavy guitar, organ and bass riffs that lock in creating a retro vibe, Peters’ drumming keeps the song propelling on all cylinders. “Shoot The Moon” jumps into a punk direction with psychedelic reverb laden vocals as Arm wails words such as “Looking for a life in the back of your mind/Looking so hard, you're going blind/Swear you tasted it, down the sun/Sooner or later, darkness will come” that seems to tackle a complex range of topics such as ambition, ego and trying too hard. “Fuzzgun 91” provides a brief instrumental interlude before “Pokin’ Around” begins. This more psychedelic and mid-tempo track features harmonica and great candid, yet satirical lyrics such as “You used to miss him/Now you're so turned on" and “Pokin' around/Gotten out of hand/I feel for you.” “Don’t Fade IV” brings garage meets Black Sabbath riffs with guitar slides as existential lyrics deal with monotony, while “Check-Out Time” ends EGBDF with a brooding, thought provoking intensity.

Throughout Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge, Mudhoney switches their focus embracing 60s garage influences such as The Sonics, Lollipop Shoppe, Neil Young, Spacemen 3, post hardcore, 80s hardcore and the sounds of bands such as Zounds and Hawkwind. With a 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition that was released on Sub Pop in July 2021, the album has been expanded with 15 additional tracks which includes singles, compilation tracks, outtakes and the original five 24-track demos. Generally considered to be their best album, Mudhoney stripped down their sound with Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge. These fourteen tracks expand their sound and melodies while still attacking with an undeniable gut feeling.  

Listen to an interview that Revolution Rock did with Mark Arm & Steve Turner of Mudhoney:

Show 897 (Originally Aired On August 28th, 2021)(Mark Arm & Steve Turner Interview):

1.  Ty Segall - Rider
2.  Parquet Courts - Walking at a Downtown Pace 
3.  The Spits - Breakdown
4.  Mudhoney - Into The Drink 
5.  Mudhoney - Who You Drivin' Now? 
6.  Mudhoney - Paperback Life (Alternate Version) 


7.  Mudhoney - Something So Clear (24-Track Demo) 
8.  Mudhoney - Fuzzbuster 


9.  Mudhoney - Thorn 
10. Mudhoney - Good Enough 
11. Mudhoney - Move Out 
12. The Wipers - Taking Too Long 
13. Tunic - Fake Interest
14. Shearing Pinx - Called By The Wrong Name 
15. Blessed - Thought
16. The Effens - Venom Denim 
17. Golden Cinema - Little Sunscreen 
18. Spread Joy - Unoriginal 
19. The Gruesomes - Bikers From Hell 
20. Kitten Spitt - Sheena Is A Punk Rocker 
21. TV Freaks - Friend
22. The Leather Uppers - Hot Shot 
23. The Rats - Can't Stand Back 
24. The Grassy Knoll & The Magic Bullit - Summer's Almost Gone

To hear this program, visit CJAM's schedule page for Revolution Rock and click the August 28 file to download/stream the episode.

No comments: