Tuesday, December 02, 2008

Nostalgia...Love Bites Special Edition...Show # 225

In October of 2008, Buzzcocks re-issued their first three albums (Another Music in A Different Kitchen, Love Bites, and A Different Kind of Tension) in special edition format. All of the Special Editions feature two discs containing the original album. non album singles/B-sides, demos, live recordings and outtakes. In celebration of these releases Buzzcocks will play Another Music and Love Bites back to back on a small UK tour. This week on my show I played a block of songs featured on the Love Bites Special Edition. Next week I will feature a block from the A Different Kind of Tension Special Edition.

Released in September of 1978, Love Bites was a transition album for the band. It was an album where the Shelley fronted Buzzcocks began to evolve into a new sound of their own. While musically the album sounds very punk influenced, it also had more of a pop and power pop production style. Around the time of this release, the world in which was known as punk was changing. Lyrically Shelley addresses topics that can be seen as directly relating to that period of time. With song titles like "Real World", "Nostalgia", "Sixteen Again", and "Nothing Left", this theory is evident. The lyrics can also be identified as relating to other subjects such as love, and real life in general, but the lines are blurred. The album was produced by Martin Rushent, and was the bands second full length album. Not only was it their second album, but it was also released in the same year as the bands first album Another Music in A Different Kitchen. The album would feature the song "Love is Lies", which is the first song to feature lead vocals by guitarist Steve Diggle. Bassist Steve Garvey is credited for the instrumental track "Walking Distance", and the whole band gets credit for the song "Late For the Train". Pete Shelley is credited for the rest of the songs on the album as the bands main composer, with the exception of the song "Just Lust". The albums first single was the non album track "Love You More". The song went to #34 on the UK singles charts. It was followed by the song "Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn't Have), which went to #12 on the UK singles charts and was also featured on Love Bites. The third single was another non album track, "Promises" (#20 in the UK). The album itself went to #13 on the UK album charts.

The special edition of this album features the original eleven track album, with non album tracks and B-sides ("Love You More", "Noise Annoys", "Promises", and "Lipstick"), Peel Session tracks, demos and a live concert from July, 21st 1978. The Peel Sessions feature the first performance of the instrumental song "Late For the Train", which was apparently written for the show, but re-recorded for Love Bites. It also features a different arrangement of the song "ESP". The demos feature the song "Raison D'etre" which would be a song on the bands third album A Different Kind of Tension. There is also an early version of the song "Promises", it is called "Children". Finally the demos include the joke song "Mother of Turds", which is a fun song that is not only humorous to the listener, but to the band as well because they cannot stop laughing through out the recording. What's interesting about the live concert is that it really shows off the band in their prime. Steve Garvey plays the bassline to the song "Breakdown" different, and better than the original in my opinion, giving it melody and depth. He also helps sing on the song "Autonomy".

A full band history of the band can be found here. The Love Bites Special Edition can be purchased on the Amazon UK website or the Amazon.com website. Next week my show will have a feature on the third Buzzcocks Special Edition release A Different Kind of Tension.

Play List:

1. The Nerves - Hanging on the Telephone
2. Gruesomes - Cave In
3. Stolen Minks - Black Widow
4. Sacred Sailors - I Can't Stand It
5. (International) Noise Conspiracy - Washington Bullets
6. Waking Eyes - Wolves At the Door
7. Marble Index - We Can Make It
8. Ugly Ducklings - Do What You Want
9. The Clues - Footsteps
10. Velvet Underground - I Can't Stand It
11. RTT - Frustration
12. Ian Hunter - Lisa Likes Rock N Roll
13. Cut Copy - Unforgettable Season
14. Bloc Party - Waiting For the 7:18
15. Kaiser Chiefs - Can't Say What I Mean
16. The Clash - Revolution Rock
17. Neil Young - Stupid Girl
18. Will Curie and The County French & Sloan - Push Pins
19. Buzzcocks - ESP (Peel Session Version)
20. Buzzcocks - Nostalgia
21. Buzzcocks - Raison D'etre (Demo)
22. Buzzcocks - Breakdown (Live July 79)
23. Radio Birdman - Murder City Nights
24. Guided By Voices - Shocker in Gloomtown
25. Standells - Rari
26. Young Rival - Too Hip

To download this week's show visit the CJAM archives and select the files 10:00 AM and 11:00 AM on December 2nd, 2008.


Interview + What Do I Get (Live in Toronto 1979)


garychching said...

Hi Dave, is there any chance of a favour. I have offered to help a young local indie band, get a little more known, i have just posted a track of theirs.

I was hoping you would consider posting their track as well, and if you like it give it some airplay on your show (and see what people think of it). They are looking for some feedback and hopefully increase peoples awareness.

its my latest post so should be easy to find


Thanks in anticipation

Ashley said...

Hey Dave,

My name's Ashley from the band The Stanley Blacks. Just like to say thank you for playing our track earlier today. Really appreciate it. Got loads of people to tune in and they all really loved your show. Looking forward to the next one.

thanks again,


Dave said...

No problem. It was a good song, people liked it. When you complete your EP you'll have to send me some more material to play.

Anonymous said...

I found this site using [url=http://google.com]google.com[/url] And i want to thank you for your work. You have done really very good site. Great work, great site! Thank you!

Sorry for offtopic

Dave said...

Thanks for reading my site. It's good to hear that people enjoy my posts.


Anonymous said...

Where is admin?!

Dave said...

I am the admin how can I help you?

Anonymous said...

So krazy

Doesnt matter