Tuesday, October 05, 2010

New CONTENT from Gang of Four...Show # 320

For the first time in 16 years Gang of Four will be releasing an album featuring new material. Perhaps best known for their stripped down Rock and Post-Punk album Entertainment!, Gang of Four went on to experiment with other genres such as Dance, Disco and Punk on albums such as Songs For The Free and Hard. In the mid eighties the band took a break from working together following the release of their 1983 album Hard. Andy Gill and Jon King reunited and released two more albums as Gang of Four. Mail was released in 1981 and Shrinkwrapped was released in 1995. In 2004 the original line up of the band reformed for some live shows and have continued to tour off and on until the present day. A new Gang of Four album followed in October of 2005 featuring re-recordings of songs from the albums Entertainment!, Solid Gold, and Songs For The Free, it was entitled Return the Gift. Drummer Hugo Burham and bassist Dave Allen left the group in 2006, Mark Hearny took on drumming duties and Thomas McNeice tackled the bass. Now in January 2011, Gang of Four will release an album of new original material for the first time since 1995's Shrinkwrapped. Content will be released on Yep Roc records. The album has been available at the bands show for sometime now and has been said to be as unconventional and stripped down as the bands debut 1979 release Entertainment!

The band is offering a FREE MP3 from their upcoming album can be downloaded here it is also streamed below:  Gang of Four - You Never Pay For The Farm MP3 DOWNLOAD

Discover Simple, Private Sharing at Drop.io

This Weeks Play List:

1. Crocodiles - Hollow Hollow Eyes
2. Public Image Limited - Bad Night
3. Steroid Kiddies - Seaside Teaser
4. No Age - Common Heart
5. Rah Rah - Henry
6. Black Mountain - The Hair Song
7. David Byrne - She's Mad
8. Suuns - PVC
9. Lewis Macleod - Where The Exits Are
10. James OL & The Villains - Paddling Tom's Canoe
11. The Flamin' Groovies - Evil Hearted Ada
12. The Locusts Have No King - Trench Song
13. Eddie Moonie & The Grave - Zombie
14. Direct Hits - Back To The Sixities
15. Dum Dum Boys - Idiot Boy
16. The Cheetahs - Radio-Active
17. Shadowy Men On A Shadowy Planet - Harlem By The Sea
19. Stand - Losing My Frustrations
20. BBQ - Take A Message
21. The Jam - I Will Be There (1975 TW Demo)
22. Gang of Four - You Never Pay For The Farm

To download this weeks program, visit CJAM's schedule page for Revolution Rock and download the file for October 5th. Or subscribe to Revolution Rock as a Podcast.

No comments: