Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Young Rival Interview...Show # 278

Coming from Hamilton, Ontario Young Rival started out in 2002 as The Ride Theory. The band features Aron D'Alesio (guitar/vocals), Kyle Kuchemy (guitar), John Smith (bass), and Noah Fralick on drums. Drawing influence from bands such as The Kinks, early Rolling Stones, Simply Saucer, Surf music, 70's Rock, and other 60's British Garage acts, The Ride Theory released their first album in 2002.

The Ride Theory, was produced by Jamie Andrew and features ten songs. The album introduced the world to jangly Garage songs such as "Alright", "Walk the Line", and "Can't Get it Right". The songs while they crunched with 60's Garage ethics, sounded fresh and original. Almost all the songs featured strong vocal harmonies that add further dimension to their music. There are also elements of Surf throughout their music too, that is evident on songs such as "Reflecting on A Foggy Day". In addition to this debut, the band has an explosive live show, which quickly built them not only a local following, but also a wider audience as well.

In 2005, Ride Theory released In This City. This album indicated a growing band, and the album displayed more musical dimensionality than on their debut. The album drew on 60's Garage, Surf, but also brought more Pop elements into their sound. Recorded at Chemical Sound Studios in Toronto on Reel-to-Reel tapes in 3 days, the album shined with a 60's gritty goodness. There are songs such as the riff filled "Dead Radio, Love", "I'm On Board" which emanates a Yardbirds/surf sound, "Parking Ticket", "Great White Shark", "Hey Sugar" Garage/Punk tracks, and finally "My Girl June". This song is an acoustic track filled with harmonious hooks, retro guitar licks, and handclaps, is clearly a highlight. After touring and being known as The Ride Theory since 2002, The Ride Theory changed their name to Young Rival in 2007.

Starting anew as Young Rival, the band took their sound to New York, and Hoboken, New Jersey, where they recorded new material. They posted several demos on their myspace page, sold demo CD's at their live shows, and even started receiving airplay in the UK. Working with Emery Dobyns (Lou Reed, Patti Smith), Young Rival produced several tracks that would end up on their first self titled EP. Young Rival features six tracks all of which keep true to the bands jangly Garage Rock past, while venturing into to new interesting music territory. It features songs such as "Another Nobody" an energetic reverb drenched Garage Rock, crowd favourite, "Poisonous Moves" a sleazy rocker, "4:15" which takes on a Zombie's-like influence, and "The Haunt", which reflects a darker yet melodic mood. The opener of the EP is the catchy and addictive "Your Island", a 60's style Pop song with strong harmonies, flooding drum crashes, and visually appealing lyrics.

On April 13th, 2010 (in the US on June 8th) Young Rival released their first full length album under that band name. Signing to legendary Hamilton label Sonic Unyon, Young Rival is now alongside other Hamilton, Ontario greats such as Teenage Head and Simply Saucer. Recorded during June of 2009 with Polaris Prize winning Jon Drew, Young Rival's self titled debut has all the energy, excitement and depth of Rock and Roll. Compared to previous releases by the band this album reflects a more "rough around the edges" sound.  There are also two tracks dating back to the bands recording sessions with Emery Dobyns from 2007 for the bands EP. The band takes on a new dynamic with this album. It Picks up where the bands six song EP left off, containing high energy rockers and songs more melodic in nature. Lyrically the album contains upbeat lyrics, juxtaposed alongside darker and tongue-in-cheek lyrics. Within the new sonic dynamics that are being displayed here, Young Rival will now operate a three piece. In December of 2009, rhythm guitarist Kyle Kuchmey left the group to pursue other interests, but he is featured on all of the recordings found on this album.

The album keeps true to their live sound. Songs such as "The Ocean", "Authentic", "T-Shirt and Shorts", "Workin", "Ghost in the Park", and "Just Can't Stay Here" all capture the essence of the band. Other songs on the album such as "At the Break of Dawn" which is an acoustic track similar to Velvet Underground with Surf Guitar elements, and "A Few Things Left" which is a Blues and Garage Rock track, add to the songs featured on Young Rival. Drenched in elements of 60's Garage, Surf, Pop and strong vocal harmonies, Young Rival is an eleven track album that you will want for your collection.

I was fortunate enough to get an interview with the band prior to their live show at Phog Lounge in November of 2009. It can be downloaded here. Be sure to check out their myspace to hear one of their new songs that will be featured on their upcoming album.


Band Links:

Young Rival Myspace
Young Rival Blog

This Week's Play List:

1. The Clash - Drug Stabbing Time 
2. Alternative TV - You Bastard 
3. The Sound - Cold Beat
4. Teenage Head - Get Off My Back 
5. Lou Reed - Hangin' Round 
6. The Killermeters - SX 225
7. VIP's - Suttgart Special
8. Rolling Stones - I'm Alright (Live)
9. Paul McCartney - I'm Down (Live)
10. Ugly Ducklings - Nothin'
11. The Shakers - Baby It's True
12. Guided By Voices - A Good Flying Bird
13. Link Wray - Slinky
14. Dead Drouillard - Chocolate Toupee
15. Young Rival - Authentic Child (Demo)
16. Young Rival - Poisonous Moves
17. Young Rival - Got What You Need
18. Simply Saucer - I Can Change My Mind
19. The Saints - Untitled
20. Them - I"m Gonna Dress in Black (Version 2) 
21. The Standells - Riot On The Sunset Strip
22. The Guilloteens - For My Own
23. The Stooges - Loose
24. The Kinks - This Time Tomorrow

To download this weeks program, visit CJAM's schedule page for Revolution Rock and download the file for December 15th. Or subscribe to Revolution Rock as a Podcast.

Young Rival Videos:

Your Island
My Girl June

1 comment:

crustina said...

Yo Dave,
You rule.
- Cristina