Tuesday, December 01, 2009

Destiny Street Repaired... Show # 276

In 1982 Richard Hell & The Voidoids released their second and final album Destiny Street. The album featured recordings of well known Richard Hell songs such as "The Kid with the Replaceable Head", "Time", "Lowest Common Denominator", and more. There were also a few cover songs on the album such as "Going Going Gone" a cover of a Bob Dylan song from his album Planet Waves, and "I Gotta Move" by The Kinks. In 2004, Richard Hell acquired the rights to the album and let it go out of print.

The original version of Destiny Street was always plagued with problems according to Richard Hell. When the original rhythm tracks were discovered in 2006, the opportunity arose for Richard to re-record parts of the album and that's what Richard did  Using the original rhythm tracks which feature Robert Quine and Naux on guitar, Richard Hell on bass and Fred Maher on drums, several guitarists were brought in to add additional guitar parts (Bill Frisell, Ivan Julian, and Marc Ribot) and Richard re-recorded the vocals. The result is Destiny Street Repaired, an album that is more representative of the original vision Richard had for Destiny Street.

In addition to the overhaul of the album, the CD version of the album contains two bonus tracks that were recorded in 1979. "Smitten" is a previously unreleased song and "Funhunt" is also included here for the first time in studio form. Previously "Funhunt" was only available in live form. The artwork has also been modified by Scottish artist Jim Lambie. Destiny Street Repaired can be found at Richard Hell's Official Website and insound.com

Play List:

1. Richard Hell & The Voidoids - I Gotta Move (2009 Version)
2. Richard Hell & The Voidoids - Going Going Gone (1982 Version)
3. The New Strychnines - You've Got Head On Backwards
4. Dee Dee Ramone & The Chinese Dragons - Chatterbox
5. The Demics - The Least You Can Do
6. Little Red - Coca Cola
7. The Parkas - Isolation Pay
8. The Doors - You Make Me Real
9. Perpetual Motion - Infiltrate Your Mind
10. Last Knight - Shadow of Fear
11. Canadian VIP's - I Know
12. The Mynah Birds - It's My Time
13. Richard Hell & The Voidoids - The Kid With the Replaceable Head (1982 Version)
14. Richard Hell & The Voidoids - The Kid With the Replaceable Head (2009 Version)
15. White Denim - I Start To Run
16. The Sonic Avenues - Out of My Head
17. Black Sabbath - National Acrobat
18. Them Crooked Vultures - Reptiles
19. Queens of the Stone Age - Another Love Song
20. The Sweet Action - Tell Me
21. White Stripes - I Fought Piranhas
22. Gruesomes - What Wave
23. Richard Hell & The Voidoids - Lowest Common Denominator (2009 Version)
24. Richard Hell & The Voidoids - Funhunt (1979 Studio Demo)

To download this weeks program, visit CJAM's schedule page for Revolution Rock and download the file for December 1st. Or subscribe to Revolution Rock as a Podcast.

No comments: