Thursday, March 29, 2012

The Oblivians To Record New Album & Show # 397

In Early February it was announced that Memphis, Garage Rock legends The Oblivians would be heading into the studio to record their first full length studio album since 1997’s Play Nine Songs With Mr. Quintron. The Oblivians consisted of Greg Cartwright, Jack Yarber and Eric Friedl, all three of the members would alternate between guitar, bass and drums, both live and in the studio. The band is known for their Garage and Punk infused sound which made them a popular and prominent band in the underground Garage Rock scene. They initially lasted from 1993 to 1998, where they released three full length albums and several singles and EPs. When deciding on a band name the band went through several different names before finally deciding on The Oblivians, taking a Ramones styled approach to their name the band each adopted the surname name Oblivian. They have played numerous reunion shows including a reunion tour with The Gories in 2009.

Greg Cartwright has been in numerous other bands since his time with The Oblivians including The Compulsive Gamblers (who also featured Jack Yarber), currently he plays with The Reigning Sound, Jack Yarber currently plays with Jack-O & The Tennessee Tearjerkers, but has also been in numerous other bands such as The Limes, The Cool Jerks, The Brand New Love Affairs, King Louie & His Loose Diamonds, the Natural Kicks and others. Eric Friedl started his own independent record label called Goner Records and currently plays with Dutch Master and The Sons of Thunder. It has been confirmed on that The Oblivians will re-unite and record another full length studio album, it will be released on In The Red Records.

This Week's Play List:

1. The Nevermores – House of Smoke And Mirrors
2. EX~PO – Tasty Bites (Live @ Chemical Sound – April 12, 2008)
3. Franz Ferdinand – Real Thing
4. The Evaporators – Bunk
5. Jack Antonio Project – The Moose Is Loose
6. The Bureaucrats – Crush You In My Arms
7. The Polymorphines – Double Down
8. The Gruesomes – Roadrunner (Live In London 1987)
9. Teen Runnings – Why Does Everybody Do?
10. Thee Oh Sees – Wrong Idea
11. Lowlife – White Lightning
12. Lost Patrol – I’m Not The One
13. Deer Tick – Walkin' Out That Door
14. Heartless Bastards – Parted Ways
15. The Gun Club – Mother Of Earth
16. Talking Heads – The Big Country
17. Magazine – Holy Dotage
18. The Waldos – Cry Baby
19. The Gories – Thunderbird ESQ (Live At CJAM 1989)
20. The Teardrops – Everything's O.K.
21. The Cramps – Primitive
22. The Oblivians – Hey Mama, Look At Sis
23. Supergrass - Caught By The Fuzz
24. The Velvet Underground – Lisa Says

To download this weeks program, visit CJAM's schedule page for Revolution Rock and download the file for March 27. Or subscribe to Revolution Rock as a Podcast.


whatwave dave said...

You going to see Lost Patrol at the end of the month? We might be there....if so, i'll find ya.

Dave said...

Where are they playing at?