Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Hungry Beat...The Fire Engines Story...Show # 244

Forming in Edinburgh, Scotland, The Fire Engines were an important part of the Scottish post punk music movement. They were playing at the same time amongst bands such as Orange Juice, Joseph K, and The Scars. Three of the band members (Davy Henderson (guitars/vocals), Russel Burn (drums), and Graham Main (bass)) were originally in the band called The Dirty Reds. Adding one more member (Murray Slade (guitars)), the band took on the name The Fire Engines, which was from a 13th Floor Elevators song. Their sound would not be as conventional as their musical contemporaries. They preferred anger and noise instead of pop hooks and melodies.

Their first release was the single Get Up and Use Me in 1980. It was backed with the song "Everything's Roses" (the single was # 9 on the UK Indie singles charts). Their first full length album was titled Lubricate Your Living Room (Background Music For Action People!). It was also released in 1980, and went to # 4 on the UK Indie Singles charts. What followed next was a series of singles in 1981. "Candyskin" would show off Henderson's unique nasally vocal style and featured a string section. It also did well on the UK Indie charts, but following the bands next single "Big Gold Dream", The Fire Engines broke up. In 1981, the band released a compilation album in the US titled, Aufgeladen Und Bereit Fur Action Und Spass. It featured live and studio tracks.

They have also released several other compilation albums. In 2004, the band released a split single with Franz Ferdinand. The single featured The Fire Engines covering Franz Ferdinand's "Jacqueline" and Franz Ferdinand covering The Fire Engines song "Get Up and Use Me". A compilation of demos and live material was released in 1995, titled Codex Teenage Premonition. A US compilation was made titled Hungry Beat in 2007. It compiled studio recordings from the band, that were previously unavailable in the US. Following the break up of The Fire Engines, Henderson and Russel Burn formed the group Win. David Henderson also had a group called Nectarine No. 9, in the 90's.

Play List:

1. New York Dolls - Vietnamese Baby
2. Ugly Ducklings - I Wish You Would
3. The Soft Pack - Bright Side
4. Dry Heaves - Portable
5. Metallica - The More I See
6. Black Sabbath - Wicked World
7. Motorhead - Tear You Down
8. John Doe and The Sadies - Detroit City
9. Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash - Guess Things Happen That Way
10. 13th Floor Elevators - (I've Got) Levitation
11. Lou Reed - Nowhere At All
12. Pretty Things - Come See Me
13. Big Town Boys - August 32nd
14. King Bees - What's Your Name
15. 49th Parallel - Citizen Freak
16. The Thermals - Now We Can See
17. Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Heads Will Roll
18. Drums and Wires - Basement
19. The Government - Complications
20. Condofucks - The Kid With The Replaceable Head
21. Fire Engines - Get Up and Use Me
22. The Scars - Horrorshow
23. Rezillos - Top of the Pops
24. Franz Ferdinand - Bite Hard

To download this week's show visit the CJAM archives and select the files 10:00 AM and 11:00 AM on April, 14th 2009.

1 comment:

The Washing Machine said...

just missed the johnny cash and bob dylan song when I was listening but I heard you talking about it, that is so crazy they did so much work together!