Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Great Sounds Great...The Story of The Clean and Show # 246

Forming in 1978, The Clean were an influential band from Dunedin, New Zealand. Brothers David Kilgour (guitar) and Hamish Kilgour (drums) joined forces with Peter Gutteridge (bass) and Doug Hood on vocals. This was one of the early incarnations of the band, they would go through a changing line-up until they settled on bassist Robert Scott after 1979 (Gutteridge would leave the group). The Clean soon created their own sound which was a mix of strange sounds, Ramones chords, and heavy organ sounds.

The first Clean single ("Tally Ho!") was released on Flying Nun records in 1981. The label was started by 1980 by a Clean fan named Roger Shepherd. The single went to # 19 on the New Zealand singles charts. When the band decided to record their first full length album, they ran into some difficulty. Since most record producers did not care for the bands sound, they recorded a four track EP titled Boodle Boodle Boodle themselves. Recorded with New Zealand musicians Chris Knox and Doug Hood, the album went to number four on the New Zealand charts. 1982 saw the release of the Great Sounds Great EP. The actual title of the EP was a bit longer, it's full title was Great Sounds Great, Good Sounds Good, So-so Sounds So-so, Bad Sounds Bad, Rotten Sounds Rotten. The Clean released one more single titled "Getting Older", which was also their loudest single at that point in their career before taking a break.

David Kilgour would leave the band shortly after this, with Robert Scott following soon afterwards. Hamish Kilgour would move to Dunedin and Hamish Kilgour moved to Christchurch, where the head offices of Flying Nun Records were located. Bassist Robert Scott formed his own band called The Bats. It wouldn't be long before Hamish started writing/working on his own material. David Kilgour would come up to help with the recording and the result was an album in the folk/acoustic musical direction. They named themselves The Great Unwashed (a pun on the name The Clean) and released the album titled Clean Out of Our Minds. They toured to promote this album, bringing Peter Gutteridge back into the music mix. While on tour, the band played quite a lot of material that was written by Gutteridge. They would in turn record another EP titled Singles, which came out in 1984. During this time the band would get a new bass player (Ross Humphries) since both Gutteridge and David Kilgour could play guitar. The Great Unwashed would break up and not last very long. They broke up with in a year of the bands formation.

Hamish Kilgour would form a new group called Bailter Space, Gutteridge formed Snapper and David Kilgour stopping making music for a couple of years. That would not be the end of The Clean though. The group would reunite for a few live shows in 1988, and record yet another EP. The Clean then embarked on a world tour. A full length album would follow in 1990 titled Vehicle. The album was more of a pop influenced album than their previous efforts. After another world tour the band would split again. They would reform yet again in 1994 and record another album titled Modern Rock. The Clean continue to record and produce music. They released Unknown Country in 1996, Getaway in 2001, and numerous other compilation albums. They also have numerous live compilations/EP's and as of 2008 have been working on material for a new album. Mister Pop was released in 2009.

While The Clean have done very well on the charts in New Zealand, they are virtually unknown in the US and other places of the world. They became part of Flying Nun Records which helped create the Dunedin, New Zealand sound. This included bands such as The Bats, The Chills, The Verlaines, and Sneaky Feelings. Flying Nun is New Zealand's biggest independent record company and have released several compilations featuring hard to find Clean material.

More information on The Clean can be found at:

The Clean - Anything Can Happen
The Clean Myspace Page

This Week's Play List:

1. White Stripes - The Union Forever
2. Sports - Warn Me
3. Neil Young - Fuel Line
4. The Clean - Point That Thing Somewhere Else
5. 3-D's - Hey Seuss
6. The D4 - Little Baby
7. Luger Boa - Don't Talk To Me
8. Clap Clap Riot - Thief
9. Valina - Idiom's Palace
10. 40 Thieves - Bangarang
11. The Unicorns - I Was Born (A Unicorn)
12. The Fresh & Onlys - Fog Machine
13. Ex- Boyfriends - To The Lowest Bidder
14. Sloan - Judy Is A Punk
15. The Killers - I Just Wanna Be Me
16. The Gears - Let's Go To The Beach
17. Shadowy Men On A Shadowy Planet - Run Chicken Run
18. Atomic 7 - Chock Full O' Notes
19. Los Straitjackets - Kapt'n Krunch
20. Randy - Punk Rock High
21. The Takeover UK - Never Been So Sick
22. The Demics - The News
23. Jack O & The Tennessee Tearjerkers - Switchblade Comb
24. The Pointed Sticks - All That Matters
25. The Strokes - New York City Cops

To download this week's show visit the CJAM archives and select the files 10:00 AM and 11:00 AM on April, 28th 2009.


allcik said...

hi,visit my blog



Anonymous said...

It is certainly interesting for me to read this post. Thanx for it. I like such themes and everything that is connected to them. I definitely want to read a bit more on that blog soon.

Dave said...

Thanks for the comment anonymous. The Clean released an album in 2009 called Mister Pop (I updated the post after reading your comment).

My next radio program will feature music from The Clean and some New Zealand related bands. You may want to check out my post and show on November 24th.


Anonymous said...

hello there thanks for your grat post, as usual ((o: