Saturday, August 06, 2016

The Frights Interview, Shotgun Jimmie & Show # 625

The Frights Interview

This week’s episode featured an interview with Mikey Carnevale the singer/guitarist in The Frights. With influences such as surf rock, punk and what the band calls dirty doo wop, The Frights formed in San Diego, California in 2012. They have just released their second full-length album You Are Going To Hate This. Produced by Fidlar’s Zac Carper, You Are Going To Hate This is a more focused effort than the band’s debut album, The Frights.

Check out the interview I did with Mikey:

Shotgun Jimmie CJAM Session

Additionally, at the end of May Shotgun Jimmie stopped by Phog Lounge with José Contreras (of By Divine Right). They stopped by CJAM FM’s studios to record the second CJAM Session (one of these songs was featured on this week’s episode of Revolution Rock). Shotgun Jimmie performed three songs acoustically with José, one of which was a new song entitled “I’m Already There, Sunshine” that is from a forthcoming album by The Heat Death. This is a new band/album featuring both Shotgun Jimmie and José Contreras.

Check out this CJAM Session:

Saturday Night Playlist:

1. The Mystery Lights - Follow Me Home
2. Chad Vangaalen - All Will Combine
3. Car Seat Headrest - Joe Gets Kicked Out of School For Using Drugs With Friends (But Says This Isn't A Problem)
4. Transistors - On Cashel St.
5. Weird Lines - Twin Summers
6. Foxhart Fishman - The Deed
7. Flipper - Life Is Cheap
8. The Frights - Kids

Firghts Interview

9. The Frights - Afraid Of The Dark
10. Shotgun Jimmie - Join The Band (CJAM Session)
11. The Beatles - I'm Only Sleeping
12. The Beatles - And Your Bird Can Sing (Take 1 - Outtake)
13. The Beatles - Paperback Writer (Takes 1 & 2)
14. The Beatles - Tomorrow Never Knows
15. The Brandy Alexanders - Conventional Lie
16. Dinosaur Jr. - Tiny
17. The Hot Nasties - Vlad The Poet
18. The Dream Dates - Search & Destroy
19. White Lung - Kiss Me When I Bleed
20. Blondie - (I’m Always Touched By Your) Presence, Dear
21. The Rezillos - It Gets Me
22. Protomartyr - Ain't So Simple

To download this weeks program, visit CJAM's schedule page for Revolution Rock and download the file for August 6.

No comments: