Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Authenic...Young Rival Release Self Titled Debut...Show # 296

On April 13th, 2010 (in the US on June 8th) Young Rival released their first full length album under that band name. Signing to legendary Hamilton label Sonic Unyon, Young Rival is now alongside other Hamilton, Ontario greats such as Teenage Head and Simply Saucer. Recorded during June of 2009 with Polaris Prize winning Jon Drew, Young Rival's self titled debut has all the energy, excitement and depth of Rock and Roll. Compared to previous releases by the band this album reflects a more "rough around the edges" sound. There are also two tracks dating back to the bands recording sessions with Emery Dobyns from 2007 for the bands EP.  The band takes on a new dynamic with this album.  It Picks up where the bands six song EP left off, containing high energy rockers and songs more melodic in nature. Lyrically the album contains upbeat lyrics, juxtaposed alongside darker and tongue-in-cheek lyrics.  Within the new sonic dynamics that are being displayed here, Young Rival will now operate a three piece. In December of 2009, rhythm guitarist Kyle Kuchmey left the group to pursue other interests, but he is featured on all of the recordings found on this album.

If you have seen Young Rival live in the past year or so, many of these songs here have been road tested and work well.  The album keeps true to their live sound.  Songs such as "The Ocean", "Authentic", "T-Shirt and Shorts", "Workin", "Ghost in the Park", and "Just Can't Stay Here" all capture the essence of the band.  Other songs on the album such as "At the Break of Dawn" which is an acoustic track similar to 60s Psychedelic Rock with Surf Guitar elements, and "A Few Things Left" which is a Blues and Garage Rock track, add to the songs featured on Young Rival.  Drenched in elements of 60's Garage, Surf, Pop and strong vocal harmonies, Young Rival is an eleven track album that you will want for your collection.  It will be released on vinyl in June. 

Young Rival will perform at Phog Lounge in Windsor, Ontario on Saturday April, 24th.

The Story of Young Rival and an Interview

This week's play list:

1. Polymorphines - Dirty Cop
2. Blam Blam Blam - Talkback King
3. Modern Lovers - Pablo Picasso
4. The Demics - The News
5. Brian James - I Can Make You Cry
6. Barracudas - Rendez-Vous
7. Link Wray - The Fuzz
8. The Gamblers - Moon Dawg!
9. Astronuts - Montezuma
10. The Locust Have No King - On My Way
11. James O-L and the Vilains - Last Lemmings Over the Cliff
12. Dr. Dog - Jackie Wants A Black Eye
13. Talking Heads - Psycho Killer (Take 1)
14. Marching Girls - True Love
15. The Organ Beats - Time To Go
16. Carbon/Silicon - Don't Taser Me Bro
17. Pretty Things - Gonna Find Me A Substitute
18.The Pack AD - Math, The Stars
19. The D4 - Little Baby
20. Gun Club - Sex Beat
21. The Kinks - Susannah's Still Alive
22. Young Rival - T-Shirt and Shorts
23. Young Rival - Just Can't Stay Here
24. Bob Dylan - From A Buick 6

To download this weeks program, visit CJAM's schedule page for Revolution Rock and download the file for April 20. Or subscribe to Revolution Rock as a Podcast.

No comments: