Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Justa Nother Rebel...The Outcasts Story....Show # 240

Forming in Belfast, Northern Ireland in 1977, The Outcasts started out playing cover songs by bands such as The Clash, The Damned, Sex Pistols, Ramones. The band consisted of the Cowan brothers, Greg on bass/vocals, Colin on drums, and Martin on rhythm guitar and Colin Getwood on lead guitar. Initially the band had Blair Hamilton on vocals, but he left the group shorty after its original formation. The band, who apparently got their name by being turned down at numerous live venues, released their first single "Frustration" in 1978. This would in turn catch the attention of Good Vibration Records, who would release their second single "Justa Nother Rebel" in November of 1978. In 1979, Self Conscious Over You, The Outcasts first full length album was released. Just before the albums release, Gordy Blair replaced Greg Cowan on bass due to the fact that he was involved in a automobile accident and was unable to play bass. The band also got a new drummer at this time, Raymond Falls. The band would then be dropped from Good Vibration Records, but this would not stop them. The Outcasts released their next single "Magnum Force" independently on their own label GBH in 1981.

Following the "Magnum Force" release, The Outcasts had their first appearance on John Peel radio show. An EP titled Programme Love came next. In 1982, The Outcasts single "Angel Face" charted on the UK indie charts at number 21. Following this brief success the band was struck with a shock when Colin Cowan was killed in a automobile accident. Greg Cowan cited that his brother Colin was not only the person who gave the band their name, but also a key member to the band in the beginning. The band played a tribute gig shortly after this and received such a positive reaction, that they decided to carry on. The band then recorded another session for the John Peel radio show, and another album which would be titled Blood and Thunder. Released in 1983, Blood and Thunder came out on Abstract Records. The album climbed to number 20 on the UK Indie album charts. The Outcasts released a few more single and the Seven Deadly Sins album in 1984, but the band was essentially over. In 1985, The Outcasts official split and three members of the band formed another group called Time To Pray; They were only a band for one year. In 2003, Greg Cowan formed another band with other members from Irish punk bands.

Play List:

1. MC5 - Tutti Frutti
2. The Bohemians - I Need You Baby
3. The Meligrove Band - Monkey Mask
4. The Outcasts - Justa Nother Teenage Rebel
5. Undertones - One Way Love
6. Stiff Little Fingers - Gotta Get Away
7. Ruffians - I Never Will Marry
8. The Pogues - If I Should Fall From The Grace of God
9. The Wolfmen - Cecile
10. XTC - No Thugs in Our House
11. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Deanna
12. The Locust Have No King - Anna's Smoke
13. Dishrags - Bullshit
14. Active Dog - Fun While It Lasts
15. The Diodes - Time Damage
16. Cardboard Brains - Living Inside My Head
17. The Government - Zippers Of Fire
18. Talking Heads - Mind (Alternate Version)
19. The Police - No Time This Time
20. Klark Kent - Office Girls
21. The Normals - Almost Ready
22. Elvis Costello - Less Than Zero
23. Ramones - Surf City
24. Sex Pistols - Don't Give No Lip Child
25. Wire - 12 X U
26. Damned - Fanclub (Live Paris Theatre, London 1977)

To download this week's show visit the CJAM archives and select the files 10:00 AM and 11:00 AM on March, 17th 2009.


asbo said...

the original lead vocal was Blair Hamilton

Dave said...

Thanks for correction abso, must have been a typo.

Total Dizajn said...

I like this Band, my favorite punk sound once ago, when i was a little punker kid.