Tuesday, November 04, 2008

Family Entertainment...Undertones An Anthology and Show # 221

In September of 2008, The Undertones released an anthology. Titled Undertones: An Anthology, the set stands out from all other Undertones "best of" compilations for one reason, the second CD that is included in this set. It compiles 27 previously unreleased demos, rare unheard recordings, and live tracks. Disc one compiles a 29 song set of songs from the bands career. This includes a large majority of songs from the bands first two albums (Undertones (1979), and Hypnotized (1980)). It also includes a few selections from the bands later albums, which veered from their original sound. While people can make complaints about some songs missing from the first disc (there aren't any I can complain about), really is there any point you are getting 29 songs? If there are some songs missing that you enjoy, go out and purchase the original albums; You won't be disappointed.

Disc two is for the Undertones fanatics, 27 previously unreleased songs. It really is interesting to hear alternate takes and early demos of your favourite Undertones songs. Some of my favourites demos are "My Perfect Cousin", "I Don't Wanna See You Again", and "Do the Fast"(from their original demo tape), "Teenage Kicks", "Emergency Cases", "The Love Parade". The version of "Love Parade" and a few other demos that were featured on the bands album The Sin of Pride, have the advantage of good production, there are no 80's effects here. Disco two also features live recordings from The Lyceum in 1978, and two live recordings form the bands 1981 tour. If that isn't enough for your there is also the song "Party, Party", which was a song written for a soundtrack, but was not used. In the booklet guitarist Damien O'Neil describes the song as The Undertones trying to do a Motown song.

After you sift through all of the recordings, there is also the linear notes. Written by guitarist Damien O'Neil, he goes into details of the bands career, from signing their recording contract with Sire Records, to their last official gig with singer Feargal Sharkey in 1983. The Undertones: An Anthology, is a very interesting set of songs, you get a collection of greatest hits and a collection of demos, outtakes, and rare recordings. If you do not live anywhere in the UK, the album will most likely have to be ordered on import. It can be found on Amazon.com, and Amazon UK. A complete history of the band that I wrote can be found in my True Confessions post.

Other interesting upcoming releases that will not only be featured on this blog, but also my radio show will be the deluxe editions of the first three Buzzcocks albums; They were released in the UK at the end of October 2008. Check this site for more info on that and you can listen to my show on CJAM 91.5 FM in the Windsor/Detroit area from 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM, or elsewhere online from cjam.ca.

Play List:

1. Dead 60s - A Different Age
2. The Cigarettes - Can't Sleep At Night
3. Rezillos - Glad All Over
4. Lost Patrol - That's Your Style
5. Dry Heaves - Portable
6. The Spys - Welcome To the Crule World
7. Lowlife - Think Naturally
8. Cheetahs - The Only One
9. Stop Starts - Metronome
10. The Talks - Boys Toys
11. Joey Ramone - Don't Worry About Me
12. The Philbys - Freefalling
13. The Government - Sponge (Live)
14. Diodes - Plastic Girls
15. Dylan James - Talking To Yourself
16. X - The New World
17. The Evaporators - Desolation Sound
18. Golden Hands Before God - The Ladder
19. The Clash - Spanish Bombs (Live At Shea Stadium)
20. Dead Boys - Sonic Reducer
21. Television - Double Exposure (1974 Demo)
22. Undertones - Tearproof
23. Undertones - My Perfect Cousin (79 Demo)
24. Undertones - Do The Fast (78 Demo)
25. Undertones - Girls Don't Like It (78 Demo)
26. Undertones - The Love Parade (82 Demo)
27. Buzzcocks - Harmony In My Head

To download this week's show visit the CJAM archives and select the files 10:00 AM and 11:00 AM on November 4th, 2008.

No comments: